24 OCT – Masterclass SAMBEAT, SANZ, ALVAREZ, MARTINEZ

24 OCT – Masterclass SAMBEAT, SANZ, ALVAREZ, MARTINEZ

The CMDL is pleased to welcome once again, Perico Sambeat. While touring with his new project Flamenco Cuarteto, he’s coming to CMDL to the students, accompanied by a trio of amazing musicians: Albert Sanz, Miquel Álvarez, and Sergio Martínez.

Perico Sambeat

Spanish saxophonist, flutist, clarinetist but also a great composer and arranger of jazz, Perico Sambeat combines the repertoires of jazz and flamenco music with which he explores new paths. He gained his prestige thanks to an extraordinary professional career, more than twenty published works and over a hundred collaborations with Pat Metheny, Fred Hersch, Brad Mehldau, Mark Turner, Steve Lacy, Michael Brecker, Maria Schneider, Kenny Wheeler and more. He led the European Big Band at the CMDL in March 2018 and has collaborated with CHARLIER / SOURISSE on several projects.

Albert Sanz

Albert Sanz was born in Valencia, into a family of musicians. Her mother is the great singer, composer and actress Mamen García and her father is Josep Sanz, conductor, classical pianist and composer. Missing the music is therefore impossible for him and his progression is dazzling: he becomes at 18 the pianist of the European Youth Orchestra (EUYO). As a coleader, he recorded, with David Mengual (cb), Des D’Aquí which is designated in Spain as best jazz record of the year 1998. Two important records mark the last years. One, En la imaginación, with the singer Silivia Perez Cruz and the bass player Javier Colina; the other, O que Sera, in trio with the drummer Al Foster.

Miquel Álvarez

Miquel Àlvarez is a young Spanish bassist and double bassist known for his eclecticism and his mastery of jazz, flamenco, rock or classical projects, with national and international formations. In the field of jazz, in addition to having participated and winning several international festivals and awards for Europe, Miquel Àlvarez has collaborated with prestigious artists such as Perico Sambeat, Javier Vercher, Enrique Oliver, Iago Fernandez, Marc Miralta and Ernesto Aurignac. , Santi Colomer, Jaume Llombart, Carlos Falanga, Marco Mezquida, Eladio Reinón, Dani Pérez, among many others.

Sergio Martínez

Internationally renowned flamenco percussionist and drummer Sergio Martínez has collaborated with many artists such as Enrique Morente, José Mercé, Diego El Cigala, Niña Pastori and Pepe de Lucía, among others. He has performed and composed for some of the most important dancers, including the National Ballet of Spain, with whom he has performed as a soloist with the Cajun National Orchestra of Spain at the Royal Theater of Madrid. He has recorded many albums, with the flamenco flutist / jazz Jorge Pardo and singer-songwriter Paul Simon for example. As a teacher on the Berklee campus in Valencia, he works with the Berklee Global Jazz Institute and participates in the Berklee Valencia Outreach program.



We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies.Accept

24 OCT – Masterclass SAMBEAT, SANZ, ALVAREZ, MARTINEZ

24 OCT – Masterclass SAMBEAT, SANZ, ALVAREZ, MARTINEZ

Le CMDL a le plaisir d’accueillir une nouvelle fois, Perico Sambeat. Alors qu’il tourne avec son nouveau projet Flamenco Cuarteto, il vient rencontrer les étudiants du CMDL accompagné par un trio de musiciens de premier plan: Albert Sanz au piano, Miquel Álvarez à la basse et Sergio Martínez aux percussions.

Perico Sambeat

Saxophoniste, flutiste, clarinettiste mais aussi un grand compositeur et arrangeur de jazz espagnol, Perico Sambeat allie les répertoires du jazz et de la musique flamenco avec lesquels il explore de nouvelles voies. Il a acquis son prestige grâce à une carrière professionnelle extraordinaire, plus de vingt œuvres publiées et plus d’une centaine de collaborations avec notamment, Pat Metheny, Fred Hersch, Brad Mehldau, Mark Turner, Steve Lacy, Michael Brecker, Maria Schneider et  Kenny Wheeler.  Il a dirigé le Big Band Européen au CMDL en mars 2018 et collaboré avec CHARLIER / SOURISSE sur plusieurs projets.

Albert Sanz

Albert Sanz est né à Valence, dans une famille de musiciens. Sa mère est la grande chanteuse, compositrice et actrice Mamen García et son père est Josep Sanz, chef d’orchestre, pianiste classique et compositeur. Passer à côté de la musique lui est donc impossible et il devient à 18 ans le pianiste de l’European Youth Orchestra (EUYO). Comme coleader, il enregistre, avec David Mengual, Des D’Aquí qui est désigné en Espagne comme meilleur disque de jazz de l’année 1998. Deux disques importants marquent les dernières années. L’un, En la imaginación, avec la chanteuse Silivia Pérez Cruz et le contrebassiste Javier Colina; l’autre, O que Sera, en trio avec le batteur Al Foster.

Miquel Álvarez

Miquel Àlvarez est un jeune bassiste et contrebassiste espagnol qui fait parler de lui pour son éclectisme et sa maitrise sur des projets jazz, flamenco, rock ou classique, avec des formations nationales et internationales. Dans le domaine du jazz, en plus d’avoir participé et remporté plusieurs festivals internationaux et récompenses pour l’Europe, Miquel Àlvarez a collaboré avec des artistes prestigieux tels que Perico Sambeat, Javier Vercher, Enrique Oliver, Iago Fernandez, Marc Miralta et Ernesto Aurignac, Santi Colomer, Jaume Llombart, Carlos Falanga, Marco Mezquida, Eladio Reinón, Dani Pérez, parmi beaucoup d’autres.

Sergio Martínez

Percussionniste de flamenco et batteur de renommée internationale, Sergio Martínez a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes tels que Enrique Morente, José Mercé, Diego El Cigala, Niña Pastori et Pepe de Lucía, entre autres. Il a interprété  et composé pour certains des plus importants danseurs, dont le Ballet national d’Espagne, avec lequel il s’est produit en tant que soliste au cajun avec l’Orchestre national d’Espagne au Théâtre royal de Madrid. Il a enregistré de nombreux albums, notamment avec le flûtiste flamenco / jazz Jorge Pardo et l’auteur-compositeur-interprète Paul Simon. Enseignant sur le campus de Berklee à Valence, il collabore avec le Berklee Global Jazz Institute et participe au programme de sensibilisation et d’insertion Berklee Valencia.



We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies.Accept